The state of Maryland requires that every vehicle have at least the minimum amount of automobile insurance – typically “liability only.” However, with the rising costs of insurance and meager wages, it can be easy to fall back on insurance payments. You may be driving your car with no insurance without knowledge, or you may be driving an uninsured car in an emergency because you had no other choice. In Maryland, you can also incur fines simply for letting your insurance lapse – you actually don’t have to actually be caught driving to be penalized for having no insurance.
If you have allowed your insurance lapse due to financial hardships or other reasons, you could face serious penalties, including:
- Up to a year in jail (first offense)
- Up to a $1,000 fine (first offense)
- Up to 2 years in jail (second offense)
- Up to a $2,000 fine (second offense)
- 5 points against driver’s license
- Loss of plates
- Loss of the ability to register your vehicle
- Uninsured motorist fees (up to $2,500 per year)
Because the penalties for driving with no insurance in Maryland are so severe, it is essential that you retain the services of a qualified criminal defense lawyer to assist you in minimizing penalties and the effects that being charged with driving with no insurance will have on your life.
Felipe Santo Domingo is an experienced criminal defense attorney with proven successes in traffic violation litigation. Don’t lose your vehicle or your driving privileges. Call Felipe Santo Domingo today for a consultation. 1-800-Have-DUI.